Zelaron Gaming Forum

Zelaron Gaming Forum (http://zelaron.com/forum/index.php)
-   RPGMaker (http://zelaron.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=188)
-   -   making bare-hand attacks move to target (http://zelaron.com/forum/showthread.php?t=38933)

Noble Swordsman 2006-03-15 01:39 PM

making bare-hand attacks move to target
 
All the weapons in my game (save for bows and the like) have you move to the target when you attack. Does anyone know a way to make it so when your unarmed you still move up to the enemy?

Lenny 2006-03-15 01:48 PM

Well that's a poser. I remember being able to set up, but...RM2K3, right?

Gimme a mo.

I know it's in Database somewhere.

EDIT: Sorry mate. Complete blackout. I've got a swine of a cold and can't think straight today. :(

One way you can do it is as a Skill. Though I doubt that'll be the most efficient way to do it.

*SUMMONS BLUECUBE*

Btw, I love the activity you and United Ninja are bringing to our little part of fame. :)

Noble Swordsman 2006-03-15 02:53 PM

Well we do what we can. I don't think there is any easy way to do it, but thanks anyway. I hope you get rid of that cold soon.

Medieval Bob 2006-03-15 03:37 PM

*Summons Bluecube*

I CALL FORTH YOUR POWER! (now we just wait)

http://www.palmyra.demon.co.uk/illus...r/bluecube.gif

Noble Swordsman 2006-03-15 04:03 PM

Hey, at what level do I learn the Blue Cube summon ability? Or do I have to be a certain class (such as moderator)?

BlueCube 2006-03-15 04:45 PM

Can't do it directly, they overlooked that for some reason - only chance is to make a weapon called "Bare Hands" or something and force it to be equipped at all times by checking your character's equipment. ...Naturally, you can check if "Sword" or "Sword 2" is equipped, but not check if you have 'nothing' equipped in that slot (thanks Enterbrain) so you'll have to do a long series of branches that will look something like

Code:

<> Branch if Dude has "BlahSword" equipped
  <>
:Else
  <> Branch if Dude has "ArghSword" equipped
    <>
  :Else
    <>
  :End
<>
:End

And you'll have to nest every available weapon for that character, and in the center, most nested area - have it equip "Bare Hands". If the person removes "Bare Hands" (say, via equipping "Awesome Sword") then just have the game discard all "Bare Hands" items.

I'd go into more detail but I have somewhere to be in a little while

Medieval Bob 2006-03-15 06:17 PM

All members have access to limited usage of the Bluecube summon ability. The higher your level, the more accurate it is and the more uses you get. Also, it helps if you put an awesome picture with the request.

And on topic, is there not a multiconditional if statement? If (blah or blah or blah or blah) ?? Wouldn't that be a lot better than nesting all of it?

BlueCube 2006-03-15 06:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Medieval Bob
All members have access to limited usage of the Bluecube summon ability. The higher your level, the more accurate it is and the more uses you get. Also, it helps if you put an awesome picture with the request.

And on topic, is there not a multiconditional if statement? If (blah or blah or blah or blah) ?? Wouldn't that be a lot better than nesting all of it?


Nope, you can't use "NOT" either (so you can't test to see if something is not 5, for example, without checking for 5 and then using an ELSE statement.)

Also, all of the above statements are true

Medieval Bob 2006-03-15 07:38 PM

What kind of language doesn't have not? O_O

BlueCube 2006-03-15 08:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Medieval Bob
What kind of language doesn't have not? O_O

Enterbrain's mystical language, at least it isn't Ruby

Noble Swordsman 2006-03-15 09:10 PM

I feared such would be the only solution... Oh well, I guess I should get started with that. Thank you for your help BlueCube, Lenny, and Medieval Bob.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is best seen with your eyes open.